WTAW press final cropped.png
An independent nonprofit publisher of exceptional literary books

New Books


One Kind Favor by Kevin McIlvoy

“An unorthodox but compelling cry against racist violence.” —Kirkus Reviews

“The author conjures a slew of colorful characters and probes below the surface … with an eye for the spiritual and magical.”

Publishers Weekly

One Kind Favor is a wildly original and deliciously subversive novel, told with profound intelligence and free-wheeling wit.”

Southern Humanities Review


The Groundhog Forever by Henry Hoke

“A wild narrative ride: inquiring, intriguing, idiosyncratic, and entertaining.”

Foreword Reviews

The Groundhog Forever is that tricky kind of trick: the kind that says it’s just a little fun thing, but then opens up the entire world’s guts and out comes LIFE.”

—Johanna Hedva

“In playful, exhilarating prose, Hoke pushes sentential limits, wryly examining the way art marks the world (and the many ways in which it fails to do so).”

Kimberly King Parsons

Coming in 2022


Thaddeus Rutkowski is the author of seven books, most recently Tricks of Light (Great Weather for Media, 2020), a poetry collection. His novel Haywire won the Asian American Writers’ Workshop’s members’ choice award, and his memoir Guess and Check won an Electronic Literature award for multicultural fiction. His other books include Border Crossings, Violent Outbursts, Tetched, and Roughhouse. He has been a sponsored reader in Berlin, Hong Kong, and Singapore, as well as in a number of other cities. He teaches at Medgar Evers College and received a fiction writing fellowship from the New York Foundation for the Arts. He lives with his wife Randi Hoffman in Manhattan.


Christine Sneed is the author of the novels Paris, He Said and Little Known Facts, and the story collections Portraits of a Few of the People I’ve Made Cry and The Virginity of Famous Men (Bloomsbury USA & UK). She has received the Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction, the 21st Century Award from the Chicago Public Library Foundation, the Chicago Writers’ Association Book of the Year Award twice, the Society of Midland Authors’ Award, an O. Henry Prize, and Ploughshares’ Zacharis Award. She has also been a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Chicago Review Fiction Award. She lives in southern California with her partner Adam Tinkham and teaches for the graduate creative writing programs at Northwestern University and Regis University.