top of page
WTAW Press Logo

Check out our new subscription program

Partner with us to reach our goals to publish and support more books that matter—books that move, compel, inspire, and entertain—and to discover and champion voices from a diverse range of backgrounds and experiences.


In preparation for the many new WTAW books to come in the 2024-2026 seasons, we are doing something new by offering a subscription program


Call it an investment in great mail days to come while you show your support and investment in WTAW's future. 

Mailbox cropped.jpg

New manuscript acquisitions 2023

Our new imprint BETTY opens for submissions

Books by women for everyone

Our innovative publishing program creates a true partnership between authors and the publisher. Learn more.

Betty will be open for submissions from women writers from December 1 through December 31, 2023.

Guidelines for submissions are available. 

Be sure to read and follow them carefully. 

The first annual Kevin McIlvoy Book Prize

In honor of Kevin "Mc" McIlvoy, who passed away suddenly on September 30, 2022, WTAW established the annual Kevin Mc McIlvoy Book Prize for an unpublished book of prose. The prize offers a $2500 cash prize, publication, and a book contract with royalties. The first competition opened for submissions September 30 and closed November 15, 2023. Nina McConigley, Joan Silber, and Peter Turchi are the final judges. 

At the time of his death, Mc was the author of One Kind Favor, a novel he said he knew was the most important work of his life. During six decades of commitment to his art, he published five other novels: At the Gate of All Wonder (Tupelo) , Hyssop (TriQuarterly Press), Little Peg (Antheneum/Macmillan), The Fifth Station (Algonquin Books), and A Waltz (Lynx House Press); a short story collection, The Complete History of New Mexico (Graywolf); a book of short fictions and prose poems, 57 Octaves Below Middle C (Four Way Books); and, most recently, numerous poems. His short fiction appeared in Harper’s, Southern Review, Ploughshares, Missouri Review, and many other literary magazines.

On November 7, 2023, WTAW proudly published Kevin McIlvoy's last book of fiction, Is It So? Glimpses, Glyphs & Found Novels. Is It So? showcases the Kevin McIlvoy's artistic dedication to the irreal, the carnivalesque, to ghost stories, fairy tales and the very short form—to writing that thrives in the edges, margins, and borderlands. Is It So? is available in our bookshop, in print and in ebook, and at all your favorite bookstores.


Results of the first Kevin McIlvoy Book Prize will be announced early in 2024.

Alcove Chapbook Series Competition Results

Stay tuned for the results of the Alcove Chapbooks Competition for 2024. The competition was fierce with many manuscripts from which to choose a winner and finalists whose books will be published. We aim to announce the results the beginning of December 2023.


All writers who submitted manuscripts should have received a response by email via Submittable at the address supplied with their submission. Writers who did not should check their spam folders. If you submitted a manuscript and are unable to find your response, please contact WTAW. 

download (19).png
clmp logo.jpg
bottom of page